Sautéed Green Chard with Eggs

ImageWhen I was little, my mother used to always make my sister and I eat chard.  Yes, I tried to feed it to our dog and get out of eating it in every way possible.  Not that my mother was a bad cook, quite the contrary, but I just thought it was nasty!  Since I love eggs, I thought this might be a pleasant way to disguise the nutritious chard leaves.

Chard is full of chlorophyll, phytonutrients, and cardio-protective flavonoids also found in kale, strawberries, and broccoli.  It also contains syringic acid that is a powerful blood sugar regulating property.  It inhibits and slows carbohydrates from breaking down, thus keeping blood sugar in balance.  And yes, I could go on and on about the anti-inflammatory, detoxification, and cancer preventing properties of this leafy green.

Here is a quick, easy, and tasty way to eat your chard and be full of energy throughout the day!

2 leaves green chard

1 mushroom

handful of green onions or chives

handful of basil

2 eggs (pasture and farm raised)

raw sharp cheddar cheese

tomatoes

  • Chop all the vegetables and sauté in coconut oil for about 3 minutes
  • Beat the eggs with a splash of milk and add to the pan to cook
  • Top with salt, pepper, cheese, and tomatoes

I used yellow tomatoes because thats what I had in the refrigerator. I think this would be great with feta cheese crumbles as well to give the eggs a salty flavor.
Image

Image

**The chard might turn your eggs slightly reddish/purple so don’t be alarmed!

One thought on “Sautéed Green Chard with Eggs

Leave a Reply

